My take on the coming elections…

First and foremost, let me just say that I am not going to vote in the coming elections… Therefore, I also know that I have no right to complain about the current state of the government in our country.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that I don’t believe in the government and Democracy… I do believe in them… But I have lost my faith in the people who run it.

I believe in the ideals of democracy… I believe in the government… But right now, it’s full of corrupt public officials who only thinks about what they will gain but not what they can do for the people.  Some of them have forgotten that they were elected to serve the people and not to be served.

And I think, for me, the worst part about the elections here in Philippines is that it brings out the “dark side” in each and every one of us… From the candidates down to their supporters…  Just now in the news, “Election-related violence kills 27, injures 37 nationwide—Police” (refer to the link below for the full article…).  Fanatics and die-hard supporters of some of these candidates are willing to kill just to make sure that their “candidate of choice” will win.  Some of us already suspect that the brains behind these incidents are some of the candidates themselves, trying to remove some of the opposition, but no one is willing to talk or point fingers else they will be next.

And with this in thought, I envy some of the Western countries where they don’t have these type of violence.  I know that they are not all perfect but seeing all these, just makes me wish for something better.  I just hope that we, Filipinos, will rise from all of these… I wish that the next President will be compassionate and humble… I wish that he/she will be honest… I wish that he/she wont forget all the promises he made to the people… I wish he/she won’t forget that its “People first…”.

Then again, I am not voting this time… So I have no right to complain about how all of these will turn out… But still, I can hope for the best…

reference:

http://newsinfo.inquirer.net/topstories/topstories/view/20100426-266564/Election-related-violence-kills-27-injures-37-nationwidePolice

Leave a Reply

