Movie Review: Rurouni Kenshin

New Rurouni Kenshin Live Action Poster

All I can say is this:  BEST. DAMN. LIVE-ACTION. MOVIE. EVER.

Late last year, a rumor spread around the internet about a live-action movie for one of the most famous anime’s of all time, Rorouni Kenshin ( Samurai X ).  At first, that’s all I thought it was, just a rumor.  Then came the teaser, then the trailer and the movie posters… and that’s when I said to myself, “Okay, so it’s not a rumor… Damn! I’m definitely gonna watch this!”.  And my wish just came true ( thanks to my brother-in-law for the treat😀 ).

20120810_Rurouni_Kenshin

The premise of the story goes like this:

Japan is about to enter the Meiji era and transition from the Middle Ages to industrialization. The samurai have no place in this modern society where warriors are less useful than traders. Unemployed, having lost the right to wear the sword, and facing guns and cannons, the samurai will gradually disappear into legend. Kenshin is one of such lost warrior. Once a grand master of the sword he is now a vagabond, wandering the roads of Japan. However, his chivalry and courage will make this one-time mercenary a loved and respected vigilante.

     – from Comicbook Movie.com

Personally I was 115% satisfied.  I am still experiencing “Samurai X high” after the movie.  Months and months of waiting was truly worth it.  They never disappointed the fans of Samurai X.  Although they did make slight changes to the story, the deviation from the plot was still acceptable.  The fight scenes were the best.  The effects of the movie were cool… no CG!  Well they did use some CG but very minimal… you’d hardly notice it.  The key to their fights scenes was excellent choreography, and great camera tricks.

0The development for each of the characters was also good.  Each of the actors / actresses portrayed their parts well, especially for Emi Takei ( as Kaoru Kamiya ) and Takeru Sato ( as Himura Kenshin ).   But I have to admit I was slightly disappointed at how they portrayed Saito Hajime‘s character.  Just an opinion, but I think it would have been better if they stayed with his “bad guy” persona, just like in the manga and anime.

All in all, I can say that this is one of the best live-action movies I’ve seen so far.  I recommend it to everyone.   So, what are you waiting for… hurry up and watch the movie!!!!

Here is also another great review for this movie: click here.

Here is a trailer for the movie.

** all images are obtained from the web via Google search.

Leave a Reply

